Now PlayingBuy TicketsComing SoonSpecial EventsShopGeneral Information

Enter your e-mail address to receive our popular weekly E-newsletter, which includes a Discount Coupon & the latest film updates



Toronto Film Festival 2013

12 Years a Slave Captures People's Choice Award, early Oscar Favorite

The 2013 Toronto International Film Festival wrapped on Saturday, Sept. 14th with the Awards Reception at the Intercontinental Hotel Toronto.

The People's Choice Award for Best Feature Film went to Steve McQueen's 12 Years a Slave, based on the true story of Solomon Northup, a free black man from upstate New York who is abducted and sold into slavery. This breathlessly-reviewed slavery drama, which stars Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender and Brad Pitt, has already been heralded by some pundits as a lock for an Academy Award Best Picture nomination.

The People's Choice Documentary Award was presented to Jehane Noujaim's The Square, in which a man's life begins to unravel when his mistress brings him a bag of cash. Shion Sono' Why Don't You Play in Hell, about a renegade film crew that becomes embroiled with a yakuza clan feud, earned the People's Choice Midnight Madness Award.

The FIPRESCI Prize for Discovery, voted on by international critics, was awarded to Claudia Sainte-Luce's The Amazing Catfish, the story of Claudia, a woman in her twenties with no real family or friends who becomes caregiver for a terminally ill woman and her four children. The FIPRESCI Prize for Special Presentations went to Pawel Pawlikowski's Ida, in which Anna, an orphan brought up by nuns in a convent, must meet her only living relative -- Wanda, a Jew -- before she takes her vows.


Feature Film -- 12 Years A Slave, dir. Steve McQueen (U.S.A.)
Honorable Mention:
Philomena, dir. Stephen Frears (U.K.)
Prisoners, dir. Denis Villeneuve (U.S.A.)
Documentary -- The Square, dir. Jehane Noujaim (Egypt)
Honorable Mention:
Beyond The Edge, dir. Leanne Pooley (New Zealand)
Hi-Ho Mistahey, dir. Alanis Obomsawin (Canada)
Midnight Madness -- Why Don't You Play in Hell?, dir. Shion Sono (Japan)
Honorable Mention:
OCULUS, dir. Mike Flanagan (U.S.A.)
Witching and Bitching, dir. Álex de la Iglesia (Spain)

Best Canadian Feature Film
When Jews Were Funny, dir. Alan Zweig
Best Canadian First Feature Film
Asphalt Watches, dir. Shayne Ehman and Seth Scriver
Best Canadian Short Film
Noah, dir. atrick Cederberg and Walter Woodman

FIPRESCI PRIZE (Prize of The International Critics)
Discovery -- The Amazing Catfish, dir. Claudia Sainte-Luce (Mexico)
Special Presentations -- Ida, dir. Pawel Pawlikowski (Poland)

NETPAC Award for Best Asian Film
Quissa, dir. Anup Singh (Germany/India)

Grolsch Film Works Discovery Award
All The Wrong Reasons, dir. Gia Milani (Canada)

For more information, check out the Toronto Film Festival OFFICIAL SITE.


Privacy | Terms of Use | Job Openings | Theater Rentals | Directions | Contact

Site Design/Coding by ChoiceWay Media